Learning & Development

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework that came into force in September 2008 and has been updated since then in September 2012 It is the new regulatory and quality framework for the provision of learning, development and care for children between birth and the academic year in which they turn five (0-5). The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;
  • Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
  • Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.

At Humberstone Day Nursery we fully embrace this framework & we structure all learning around the Early Years Foundation Stage education program.
Every child deserves the best possible start to fulfill their potential. A child's experience in the early years has a major influence on their future life. A secure, safe and happy childhood provides the foundation for children to make the most of their ability & talents as they grow up.

The EYFS is made up of Prime and Specific areas of Learning and Development. All areas of Learning and Development are connected to one another and are equally important. All areas of Learning and Development are underpinned by the principles of the EYFS.
The Prime areas of Learning and Development are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The Specific areas of Learning and Development are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

When planning and guiding children’s activities, our practitioners must reflect on the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice. Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

  • Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;
  • Active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements; and
  • Creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things
Learning And Development at Humberstone Day Nursery

Overarching Principles

These Four guiding principles shape the practices in our settings. These are the following principles :

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable,
    confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.
    The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Further information please visit www.education.gov.uk


Learn More About Our Team
Learn More about Special Needs
Find Out More About Our Nursery Gallery